Written by Mark Emiley
Monday, 01 December 2008 05:33 - Last Updated Sunday, 03 August 2025 12:36

## **Golden Mash Paddle Award**

The purpose of the Golden Mash Paddle is to recognize individuals who work to significantly advance the Washington homebrewing movement. The nominees and recipients of this award go above and beyond the call of duty to pioneer movements at and beyond the club-level, benefiting the Washington homebrew scene.

## **Golden Mash Paddle Nomination Overview:**

- Nominations should be made for an individual's contributions to Washington homebrewing
- Only Washington residents may be nominated
- Initial nominations can be made on the **Golden Mash Paddle Nomination page** (closed) or submitted through WAHA Representatives
- Initial nominations will be accepted from December 1<sup>st</sup> to January 14<sup>th</sup> (extended until Feb 1st)
   and
   must include:
  - Nominees name
  - Some contact information for nominee (e-mail, phone, club, etc.)
  - Either a basic or detailed description of the nominee's accomplishments
  - Nominator's contact information (optional but helpful)
- Between January 14<sup>th</sup> and January 21<sup>st</sup>, nominees will be contacted and allowed to provide additional details to the nomination resume. They have until **January 31**

st

to submit modifications to the Awards Committee Chairperson.

- In February, the WAHA Club Representatives will review the resumes and vote for the recipient of the Golden Mash paddle which will be announced by the end of February.

## <u>2022-23 Nomination Period Open&nbsp; - Nominate Someone Today &nbsp;</u>

For the detailed Golden Mash Paddle Framework, click here

Questions? Contact the WAHA Awards Committee Chair.

## **Previous Winners:**

2008 - Mark Emiley, BEWBC

2009 - Tim Hayner, Impaling Alers

2010 - Tom Schmidlin, CBG

2011 - Peter Twigg, WAHA

2012 - Steve Antoch, Mt. Si Brewing Society

2013 - Mark and Alison Joy, Stilly Mashers

2014 - Eric Wilson, GEBL

2015 - Larry Rifenberick - Impaling Alers

2016 - Peter Bergler - Mt. Si Brewing Society

2017 - Jill Marilley - GEBL

2018 - Garry Leinhard - HOPS

2019 - Matthew Hibbs - BPHC

2020-21 - Tony Ochsner - CBG

2022-24 - Jon Sleight - Puyallup Brew Crew